Kobalt Wins ASCAP Pop Music Publisher Of The Year Award 

Company Takes Home ASCAP’s Most Prestigious Publisher Award for the First Time 

June 17, 2020 - Kobalt announced it has won ASCAP’s (the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers) Pop Music Publisher of the Year Award. This distinguished honor was recognized virtually at ASCAP’s 37th annual Pop Music Awards, which celebrates the top songwriters and publishers of the previous year's most-performed pop music songs in the United States.

Kobalt secured this year's prestigious award with 22 of the most-performed pop music songs including “7 rings,” “Bad Guy,” “Be Alright,” “Beautiful (Feat. Camila Cabello),” “Beautiful People,” “break up with your girlfriend, i'm bored,” “breathin,” “Close To Me,” “Delicate,” “Hey Look Ma, I Made It,” “High Hopes,” “How Do You Sleep?” “I Don't Care,” “ME!” “Memories,” “No Guidance,” “Old Town Road (Remix) Feat. Billy Ray Cyrus,” “Only Human,” “Sweet But Psycho,” “thank u, next,” “The Middle,” and “Without Me.”

“When we started Kobalt in a small office, we couldn't have thought that an independent company would win one of the most prestigious awards in the industry. I like it!” said Kobalt Founder and Chairman, Willard Ahdritz. “We owe a lot of our success - and this award - to our dedicated songwriters and great global creative team. Songwriters believed in us as much as we did them. Their success is really what matters here. I also want to thank ASCAP for their foresight and support over the years, and for evolving with the industry." 

“This is a big milestone for Kobalt,” said Kobalt CEO, Laurent Hubert, “We’ve always known the power of our songwriters and how important they were individually. To see their success categorized here and represented for the industry to see, as part of the Kobalt family, is very humbling. I want to thank them, our amazing global creative team, and ASCAP for all they do for the industry. These awards, albeit virtually, are very much needed to shine a light on the great contributors to music.”

At this year’s event, ASCAP also celebrated many of Kobalt’s winning songwriters including Finneas O'Connell, Dean Lewis, Max Martin, Shellback, Savan Kotecha, Brendon Urie, Jacob "JKash" Hindlin, Noah "40" Shebib, Trent Reznor, Henry "Cirkut" Walter and many more. 

Back to Press